Dog day care center · Katy, TX

The Dog Academy

★★★★★ 4.8 from 281 Google reviews · #8 of 79 in Houston by score

DaycareDedicated facility

9.6DogDnB Score

What The Dog Academy publishes

We read this facility’s own website for the policies owners ask about before booking. Each published policy carries the sentence it came from; each blank one is a fact about the website, not a verdict on the facility.

13 of 27 policies published
Website checked 2026-09-08. 14 not stated on the site.
Admission requirements
Vaccinations requiredRequired: rabies, DHPP, Bordetella · Not mentioned: canine influenza, leptospirosis
Their words
All pets must be current on three vaccinations: Rabies, Bordetella, and Distemper-Parvo. Bring proof of vaccination to your first visit, or have your vet email it to us ahead of time.thedogacademy.com/faq
Bordetella lead timeNot published on their website
Fecal / parasite testNot published on their website
Spay / neuterNot published on their website
Temperament evaluationRequired for some dogs
Their words
All group play is supervised by our trained staff, and dogs in group play pass a temperament test first.thedogacademy.com/faq
Vaccination recordsProof checked, not taken on word
Their words
Bring proof of vaccination to your first visit, or have your vet email it to us ahead of time.thedogacademy.com/faq
Operations
Staff on site overnightNot published on their website
Staff-to-dog ratioNot published on their website
Maximum playgroup size15 dogs
Their words
How are daycare groups organized? Groups are capped at 15 dogs and organized by size and age: large dogs (over 35 lbs), small dogs (under 35 lbs), and puppy groups (under 1 year).thedogacademy.com/faq
Staff certificationNot published on their website
Play modelNot published on their website
Groups separated bySize and age
Their words
Groups are capped at 15 dogs and organized by size and age: large dogs (over 35 lbs), small dogs (under 35 lbs), and puppy groups (under 1 year).thedogacademy.com/faq
Time out of the kennelNot published on their website
Solo care for dogs who skip group playOffered
Their words
Electives are one-on-one enrichment activities for boarding guests — like fetch, pool time, story & cuddle time, and food puzzles. Two electives per day are included in every boarding bundle, and extras can be added à la carte for $15 each.thedogacademy.com/faq
HousingNot published on their website
Outdoor accessYard
Their words
Boarding Beautiful private rooms, spacious private turf yards, and 5 large grass fields to explore!thedogacademy.com/?utm_campaign=gmb
CapacityNot published on their website
Climate controlClimate-controlled
Their words
our building has the latest HVAC technology to make sure fresh, clean air is provided to every dog's personal space.thedogacademy.com/daycare
Live cameras for ownersNot published on their website
Photo / report-card updatesYes
Their words
How will I know how my dog is doing during their stay? Every boarding stay includes a daily photograph report card with details on your dog's feeding, demeanor, and activities.thedogacademy.com/faq
ToursWalk-in tours welcome
Their words
Come Visit Us & Tour Our State of The Art Facility! Feel free to stop by and tour our facility.thedogacademy.com/about
Injury / fight policyNot published on their website
Veterinary accessNot published on their website
Administers medicationIncluded
Their words
Feeding (and medicating, if needed) is included with every stay, and we follow your feeding instructions exactly — including special preparation for eating difficulties or allergies.thedogacademy.com/faq
FeedingOwner's food required
Their words
Do I need to bring my dog's food for boarding? Yes, please bring your dog's own food. Feeding (and medicating, if needed) is included with every stay, and we follow your feeding instructions exactlythedogacademy.com/faq
AvailabilityNot published on their website
Online bookingYes
Their words
Calming Kong 2 electives Daily photograph report card! Reserve Todaythedogacademy.com/boarding

Read from the facility’s public website, 2026-09-08. Policies change — confirm anything that matters when you book. “Reviewers” marks a fact customers describe that the operator does not state; it is weaker evidence and never counted as published. Method on the methodology page.

What reviewers mention

daily report cards ×19training ×15doggie pool ×9puppy play ×3nail trimming ×3electives ×3scheduling ×3free bath ×2

Topics extracted from public review text, with mention counts.

Rating breakdown

5265
44
31
21
110

94% of reviewers gave 5 stars; 4% gave 1–2 stars.

Amenities & details

Onsite servicesWheelchair accessible entranceWheelchair accessible parking lotWheelchair accessible restroomFree parking lot

Attributes self-reported on the business’s public profile.

Alternatives nearby

See all 79 places in Houston